A JOY Ride

Find-joy-in-the-journeyI love words. How about these three? A joy ride. What is the first thing you think of?

Do you think of freedom and driving on a long rural country road with the radio on? Possibly riding with a great companion? Having a smile on your face, wind in your hair and no worries?   Or do think of it as a crime, a ride in a borrowed or stolen car where you are speeding along being reckless? The choice is yours.

Months ago, I had a week where I hadn’t driven anywhere. When I got back into my car, I felt like a teenager.  It felt so great to… drive.  This is just one of many, many things we take for granted each day.

The other day, I needed to get out of the house. It had been raining for days.  I just needed some fresh air.  My cell phone rang and I answered.  Where are you?  I responded, I’m on a joy ride.  The words instantly came to me yet I hadn’t said this expression in years.  As I ended the call, I thought of my sincere and simple words.  They were true.  I wasn’t killing time or lost, I was driving and enjoying it and discovering a new road that was really not that far from my house.  The spiritual journey is just this.  You can ride along in joy not always knowing where you are going or, in fear, kicking and screaming all the way.  Let go, enjoy the ride!

So maybe it’s time for a JOY ride.  Just try saying it.  I’d bet you’ll smile.  This would not be your commute to work or running kids to practice or an errand – although it could be.  Find a new road, create an adventure.  Get out and clear your head.  Listen to your favorite music.  Who knows what you might find.

Find joy in your journey!

One comment on “A JOY Ride

  1. Our journey is both internal and external. The direction we take is led by our internal psyche, the driving force. The path is indeed full of ‘joy’ but also pain. However we can only appreciate the good with the experience and hardship of the obstacles 🙂 indeed it is one hell of a ride ☆

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

