Lessons from Nature

DSCF1048

Nature, again and again, is a classroom for me.  I don’t often write of the symbolism or lessons I’ve learned.  And if you’re not careful, it’s easy to dismiss all together. 

I moved into a new home in June and shortly after we arrived started to watch this rose bush bloom and bloom. It’s now fall and the temperatures are cooler, yet it’s still blooming. This past week, I’ve watch a lone bud. Usually they open pretty quickly, within a day. This one seemed to stay the same day after day. Then today it hit me as I was thinking of my outer world as my mirror. What were signs that I was missing? I thought of the quote by Anaïs Nin: “And the day came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was more painful than the risk it took to blossom.” Ahh…

DSCF2234

So I dropped everything and went outside to talk to the bud saying,

I know that’s it’s late in the season.

I know the days are shorter and the nights are cooler and longer.

Yet, I know that you will bloom. It’s what you do. You came this far and you will be beauty as you unfold.

I think I needed the pep talk, too.

Everything that surrounds you is of your energy.  It’s all there to assist in your journey.  A reminder, a trigger, a lesson, a gift.  Stop and smell the roses.

Leave a Reply

