Wild Geese

For me, this is how the Universe works.

I love to start my day with a cup of coffee on the front porch. I haven’t checked my email and I try not to allow my mind to whirl up a to-do list. Often it’s quiet and I can quickly connect with the birds, trees and sky around me, feeling part shaman. I have a notebook and I just see if anything comes to me. I give the Universe the first opportunity to prime my day.

(On cold mornings, I do the same by lying in bed an extra 5-10 minutes.) Often if I’ve had dreams, I reflect upon them but I didn’t have any that I remembered last night.

It’s the simple things that awe me. This morning I saw seven white geese fly right over the porch. I’d never seen this and immediately thought of my seven chakras. They flew wingtip to wingtip and honked; their form of communication. I wished I had my camera. Then I heard more honking and four more came from a different direction and caught up with the initial seven. Ahh… many discuss the additional chakra’s. If my outer world is a reflection of me, this was my sign. A catching up, finding, merging and staying high.

I enjoyed the moment and went to start my day. As I opened my laptop, I lost internet connection. As I started again, this was the first page I pulled up and yes, the picture of geese caught my attention.

DSCF2558

A synchronicity. I can’t say that I would have otherwise read the article which lead me to this 90 second youtube:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lv_4xmh_WtE

These words by Mary Oliver really spoke to me. I’ve been receiving messages about a rite of passage, newness and feeling alive.

And, online I read this:

If Goose has flown across your path: You are being reminded that we often take on the quests of our peers and family without stepping back and discerning whether or not this is something that we ourselves would wish to pursue. Make sure that the path you are currently following is your own and look deeply into your heart to ascertain that the choice is yours and not what someone else has wished upon you.

Alternatively the quest you are currently on is about to take an abrupt change of course. Know that this is only a temporary thing and that you will soon be back on your chosen path.

And: To see Geese in flight is a precognitive omen or indication that something important is about to happen. Something new is coming in and you should be prepared for it.  Source: http://www.spirit-animals.com/goose

This was helpful in many ways. I’d received some news over the weekend and decided not to react; the old me. Now, I think here was my answer. Just when you think the Universe hasn’t answered your question, know that it has.

So for me, geese are reminders of communication, leadership, teamwork and being with your flock. Migration and knowing that you’ll need to move around and to an environment that best suits you. And knowing that the migration takes bravery.

Leave a Reply

