Om

Om-Symbol-1

My first introduction to, Om was by my aunt.  She was picking me up at an airport.  Within minutes I heard her, Ommming.   I asked her what she was doing. 

She explained that she was holding space and remaining calm.  The airport was… an airport.  A hectic place with lots of energy and yes, some chaotic.

I’ll be honest, I don’t know enough about the symbol or the practice to write on it yet, I have on occasion om’ed in my own way.  I do see the symbol often.  Today though, I saw it at a place I least suspected. In my ex-husband’s driveway. Yup.  We were having a short and yes, civil conversation yet my eyes kept glancing at his rear view mirror.  The om symbol was hanging from his mirror.  Really?  Can I nicely say that he doesn’t really believe in my type of spiritualty.  Oh, the Universe had my attention and… a sense of humor.

So I’m trying to remain present and engaged in the conversation but…

I then looked again and realized what I was seeing.  It was actually another symbol.  A pair of handcuffs (law enforcement).  One was open yet how they fell looked just like the Om symbol.

7358659-3d-silver-Hinduism-symbol--Stock-Photo-om

When I came home and looked up the meaning of Om, google stated:  Om is a sound and a symbol which is rich in meaning and depth. It represents the divine in each of us, as well as our interconnectivity. It reminds us that we have the ability to move past our physical and mental states of consciousness and connect with the divine – both in ourselves and others.

Yes. Can I add we can move past our hurts, too.

Spirit is always with us.  Always.  Signs and reminders are everywhere.  This was also reminding me that no matter what, all there is, is love.  While you might feel or believe otherwise, everyone we come into contact with loves us.  Some though have tougher roles, all to help us evolve.  Learn from your teachers.  The best ones are closer than you think.

So I’ll also share this image I found online.  Source:  http://www.sivanaspirit.com/

MeaningOfOm.jpg

May you, too, have an Om moment.

2 comments on “Om

  1. that’s a great story, I love when stuff like that happens. thanks for sharing it. I thought you were going to say, that what bound you could now be see as “open”, and you feel free. – thanks for the lesson on OM, I HAD to read it as I’m off to the airport this am and that word caught my eye. have a great week, and thanks for sharing the continued experience we can all grow from. momentummikey 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

